Gin anyone? Advice please

I am new to gin but trying to learn as much as possible. I understand that the absolute minimum acceptable quality is Bombay Sapphire and for those who can taste often the micro distilleries have well regarded offerings. Can anyone make any recommendations and why? Also G&T preparation tips would be much appreciated too. Many thanks in advance.

I'm not a fan of Bombay Sapphire, Graham, but it least it has something like a classic gin character; I have come to the conclusion that most of the modern pretenders are just silly and exaggerated. To make the classic gin drinks one needs the classic gins. The problem is that one needs them in the full strength export format found at duty free shops around the world. I particularly like Gordon's yellow label, Tanqueray(the domestic form is acceptable, Tanqueray 10 and the orange flavoured one less so) and Beefeater and after extensive investigation feel no need for anything else. If one is going to drink it with tonic then the choice of tonic is the important thing.
For those who wish to spend more Silent Pool is pretty good. By some distance the worst I have tasted are Ophir and the best selling gin of all,San Miguel from the Phillippines, both for different reasons undrinkable.

Hi Tom, thanks for replying to my thread. The purpose of taking an interest in gin is (i) the wife likes it and (ii) it seems like a nice basic and popular drink to offer guests [although I will be buying other spirits and attempting cocktails too] upon arrival. I am not crazy keen on gin, but I can see how a g&t can be refreshing, and I will let you know how I get on. I am quite looking forward to the challenge of extending my drinks hosting beyond offering beer, wine, single malt whisky and cognac.