Travel Berlin reccos

Discussion in 'UK Wine Forum' started by Mark N Wright, Dec 5, 2018.

1. Hi, my Partner and I are off to Berlin in March for the first time. I see on here there is a few threads about the city but the main focus is on restaurants.

Being a total newbie to Germany any tips, places of interest, must do things please?

The area we are staying in is called Mitte.

2. I tried very hard last year to find traditional German/Berlin cooking done superbly and without shortcuts, and I failed. I suspect it is the wrong thing to look for.

3. There are various things that all the normal guides will tell you but I would make the point that in March it can still be bloody cold and wet and that will (a) dictate what you do (b) considerably spoil your time there if you are not prepared for it

4. End of March can be quite warm in Berlin, first glimpse of spring. I will return tomorrow for recommendations.

Mitte is the best place to stay.

5. Thanks Martin. I also had a look at wine shops and there seems to be loads. Planet Wein looked good although struggled with website. We are going on the 14th March for three days. My Missus doesn't know anything about it yet and I can't allocate foo much time to wine related things so one or two visits probably realistic.

It was meant to be a surprise gift for my partner (and me) although I knew they were planning something and was asked to give a list of about 6/7 places we would like to visit. the person organizing it slipped up giving my email address as a contact so I got confirmation of the bookings as well.

The apartments are called Clipper City Home apts.

Used to cold and wet weather in March (and April, May, June etc).

6. Planet Wein is a very good wineshop in Mitte/Gendarmenmarkt around the corner of Hilton Hotel. The female owner is a true expert and famous in Berlin.