Food Chef For A Day Experience - The Box Tree, Ilkley

Discussion in 'UK Wine Forum' started by Richard Ward, Aug 11, 2018.

1. It was my 40th birthday a couple of months ago, and Vicki's gift was a voucher for this experience at my favourite local restaurant. The concept is basically that you pay for the experience of working in a Michelin star kitchen for the day, then return to the restaurant in the evening for a dinner for 2. I have never worked in any sort of kitchen before so really had no idea what to expect.

For those not familiar, The Box Tree is an ultra traditional French/British restaurant decked out top to bottom in antiques and was one of the original UK Michelin stars back in the 70s. Menu is heavy on classics (ever changing fruit soufflés are probably the signature dish here), techniques are old school and most dishes contain more butter than you can shake a cow at, although the current head chef is modernising aspects of the menu slightly and lightening certain dishes, as well as introducing some more eclectic flavours.

The day started at 10am where I was met by the head chef, and after brief introductions and basic safety info it was straight on with prep for lunch. Everyone in the kitchen (6 chefs + porters/runners) was doing fairly menial tasks at the point. I was given a box of Girolles to clean and then pickle and then a load of chorizo to micro dice for making chorizo and apple jam. I was then sent to pastry to make bread dough for flatbreads used in canapés, sweet pastry for caramel tarts and craquelin for glazing choux buns. I was surprised at just how much they let me do to be honest. All the chefs were friendly and helpful and all were asking me about my favourite ingredients, dishes, restaurants etc as well as sharing theirs.