TN Mystery parcel of English Sparkling Wine in Majestic

Discussion in 'UK Wine Forum' started by Tom Cannavan, Mar 12, 2018.

1. Tom Cannavan

Tom Cannavan Administrator

Made by Hambledon from a single vineyard, but Majestic signed an NDA about the exact origins, including composition and age of the blend for a new 7,000 bottle parcel of English Sparkling Wine that's just gone into stores. I have my my own guesses/conclusions about it, as detailed in my Wine of the Week review, but if anyone else tastes it I'd love to know yours. For me obvious extended time on the lees, and really delicious.

2. Tom Cannavan

Interesting suggestion from a friend of mine that it might be from Steven Spurrier's vineyard, but I have no knowledge of that.

3. I thought Spurriers vineyard was in daaarset not Hampshire.

4. Tom Cannavan

Aah - unreliable friend. I should have checked :)

5. Mr. Spurrier's fizz is made at Furleigh (usually).

6. Not to sure about the color but seems to deliver on the palate.

7. Tom Cannavan

Bob, I think it's very much a style you will either love or hate in that it is rich and quite mature, not everyone's style of Champagne/sparkling wine, but for me it is delicious and not at all over-mature. In many ways it is Majestic rediscovering some of the magic of their first "special parcels" of numerous mature German wines of very good quality: this feels like a genuine secret discovery, whereas many of their recent special parcels have just felt like any other own label wine.

8. I like maturity in my Champagnes so this sounds very nice Tom. I am intrigued though as to why Hambleton wouldn't have released this wine under their own label considering how well it has developed in bottle. Any theories?

Mahmoud.

9. Tom Cannavan

Mahmoud,